Book of Living Myths
  • Q: I have question about last e-mail ruling which I saw recently in web: "Resolving a sealed bless token with Tidal Memento does not count as revealing that token for eye of the Djinn's ability. Similarly resolving a bless or curse token via Book of Living Myths does not count as revealing that token for Read the Signs (2)'s ability." Is that really true and is this the intention of the Book of Living Myths to work this way? Because if this is true Book of Living Myth would be very weak card. It would have no synergy with many cards, not only "Read the signs (2)", but also "Paradoxical Covenant", "Fey" and much more other cards. I and many other members of Horror Arkham LCG's community were shocked when we saw this mail. We have thought so far when the card say that any chaos token is resolved that always mean that is also revealed and this mail contradicts our reasoning. A: When we received the email mentioned, we were certain about how we wanted to rule on Tidal Memento, and it made sense to treat Book of Living Myths the same because of how similarly it is worded. However, Book of Living Myths was designed to function like your interpretation of it, where the searched token is “revealed and resolved” rather than just “resolved,” and its effect can combo with Read the Signs, Paradoxical Covenant, Fey, etc. We planned to revisit Book of Living Myths for a potential update, but with the timing of said update uncertain, we will address your concern here: Book of Living Myths does “reveal and resolve” the searched token. This was, and remains, the intention of the card. (Rules Forum Answer, October 2024)
Last updated
Tidal Memento
  • Q: I have question about last e-mail ruling which I saw recently in web: "Resolving a sealed bless token with Tidal Memento does not count as revealing that token for eye of the Djinn's ability. Similarly resolving a bless or curse token via Book of Living Myths does not count as revealing that token for Read the Signs (2)'s ability." Is that really true and is this the intention of the Book of Living Myths to work this way? Because if this is true Book of Living Myth would be very weak card. It would have no synergy with many cards, not only "Read the signs (2)", but also "Paradoxical Covenant", "Fey" and much more other cards. I and many other members of Horror Arkham LCG's community were shocked when we saw this mail. We have thought so far when the card say that any chaos token is resolved that always mean that is also revealed and this mail contradicts our reasoning. A: When we received the email mentioned, we were certain about how we wanted to rule on Tidal Memento, and it made sense to treat Book of Living Myths the same because of how similarly it is worded. However, Book of Living Myths was designed to function like your interpretation of it, where the searched token is “revealed and resolved” rather than just “resolved,” and its effect can combo with Read the Signs, Paradoxical Covenant, Fey, etc. We planned to revisit Book of Living Myths for a potential update, but with the timing of said update uncertain, we will address your concern here: Book of Living Myths does “reveal and resolve” the searched token. This was, and remains, the intention of the card. (Rules Forum Answer, October 2024)
Last updated
Strong-Armed
  • Q: I have a question about Analysis and Strong-Armed. The triggering condition for their effects are "After revealing a chaos token for this skill test..." and "After revealing chaos token(s) for this skill test..." Are we to interpret both effects as referring to the "reveal chaos tokens" step of a skill test, or after the act of "you reveal chaos tokens". The plain English reading of both cards has an implicit "you" as the subject of the clause, and it's unclear if these cards are intended to only be applicable on your own skill tests, or if they can be used on another investigator's skill test and still resolve their abilities. A: You are able to commit Analysis and Strong-Armed to another investigator’s skill test. If you do, the “you” in either ability refers to the owner of the card, not the investigator performing the skill test. If you, as a Seeker investigator, commit Analysis to the Guardian’s skill test, you the Seeker are able to use the ability on Analysis to drop a clue and have the Guardian reveal another chaos token. (Rules Forum Answer, October 2024)
Last updated
Analysis
  • Q: I have a question about Analysis and Strong-Armed. The triggering condition for their effects are "After revealing a chaos token for this skill test..." and "After revealing chaos token(s) for this skill test..." Are we to interpret both effects as referring to the "reveal chaos tokens" step of a skill test, or after the act of "you reveal chaos tokens". The plain English reading of both cards has an implicit "you" as the subject of the clause, and it's unclear if these cards are intended to only be applicable on your own skill tests, or if they can be used on another investigator's skill test and still resolve their abilities. A: You are able to commit Analysis and Strong-Armed to another investigator’s skill test. If you do, the “you” in either ability refers to the owner of the card, not the investigator performing the skill test. If you, as a Seeker investigator, commit Analysis to the Guardian’s skill test, you the Seeker are able to use the ability on Analysis to drop a clue and have the Guardian reveal another chaos token. (Rules Forum Answer, October 2024)
Last updated
Inner Chamber
  • Q: In the Relics of the past challenge scenario, how do you resolve drawing a location using the non-explore ability on Inner Chamber? Would they possibly just go into play regardless of if they're connecting to your current location? A: The ability on Inner Chamber is intended to allow the investigators to draw Relic cards from the exploration deck; it is not intended to allow the investigators to put locations into play. We will plan to update Inner Chamber to specify that you can draw a “non-location” card revealed with its ability. Any location cards you reveal with Inner Chamber should be shuffled back into the exploration deck. (Rules Forum Answer, October 2024)
Last updated
OSZAR »